about me

Aravind Kaliamoorthy @nomadaravind

I grew up in Pondicherry - a former french colony of India and Auroville. Traveling has always been my passion. I have been traveling since the age of 10 unconsciously with my parents. When I was in college I was travelled visited lots of places in South India to attend photography and design competitions.

I used to work for a French company in Pondicherry & Auroville as a UI/UX Designer. I worked from 9:30 am to 7:30 pm everyday. After that I would start my second job from 10 PM to 2 AM, stretching sometimes till 4 AM. My dream however was to travel the world so I would normally resort to traveling on the weekends. I would leave my hometown on Friday evening after work, spend two days in some new state and reach office directly on Monday morning. I would utilize the earnings from my second job for my love for traveling and photography, whereas the income from the first job was used to help and support my parents given how much they had spent on my education and even other expenses.

In India, 26 is considered the average age for a guy to get married whereas for a girl it is often low as 21. If you fail to get married by then, you and particularly your family often has to face a brunt of questions posed by the society. People even go to the extent of thinking that something is wrong with such a guy or a girl be it physically or emotionally. I underwent a lot of pressure at the hands of my parents for marriage. They showed me photos of some girls and asked me to choose to marry one of them. My heart couldn’t bare the prospect of getting married to someone I didn’t love or know. I wanted to travel every single country in the world. That was my ambition, my goal, my dream, my everything. For a lot of Indians settling in life is all about graduating, finding a suitable job, getting married and having kids and then the same cycle repeats all over again with their kids. Such a life holds no appeal for me. 

Eventually her Indian visa expired so she went to Thailand. She suggested I accompany her and I thought to myself “Wow, this would be my first time abroad but I don’t have any money!” She told me that her money was my money and that she would like to share it with me. She helped me buy a ticket, visa and even supported me with the living expenses. When I arrived in Koh Phangan, I found a volunteering opportunity with a awakening and healing school. In fact that’s where I currently am, providing graphic and photography work to survive.